A Late Happy Birthday to Me!

Close behind Baby J’s, my birthday was last Thursday.  That time last year I was still in the hospital, desperately trying to learn how to breastfeed my newborn baby. It was the toughest week of my life. No wonder I don’t actually remember having turned 27, and went this whole past year thinking I was still 26! And now suddenly I’m 28. It’s still kind of hard to believe. Not that I feel all too different.

Hubby took the day off, and thanks to him I had a great day! One of things I’ve always wanted to do was get my nails done in a Japanese salon. It’s pretty pricey though, so I never did it. As a result this is not usually the first things to pop into my mind when I think about treating myself. But as I was reading Tokyo Tarareba Girls I was reminded of how it’s something that I’ve always wanted to do (one of the characters owns her own nail salon). As it was my first time going to a salon by myself (maybe the second or third time in my whole life that I’ve actually gone to one?), I wasn’t sure which option I should get and I decided to get the package that let me choose from one of their predesigned nails.

I hate going to new places, so I was actually pretty nervous to go. Of course there wasn’t much of a need for me to be nervous. The atmosphere of the salon was relaxing, and the lady who did my nails was quite nice. I found myself torn between two different designs, but I wanted something with flowers, so I decided to go with these:

IMG_7409

These are quite simple compared to the other kinds of nails that I’ve lusted over in the past, but they’ve grown on me quite a bit this past week. I’m afraid that now that I’ve gotten my nails done once though, I’m going to want to keep going back to get them done!

IMG_7405

After I got them done, hubby brought Baby J and we went out for steak for dinner. Baby J had her first real kids meal! We even got to choose out a toy for her too. We wound up picking out a little wind-up car for her. She ate quite a bit and I think she had fun with the experience.

IMG_7415

We picked up an ice cream cake from Baskin Robbins for dessert. It was late and I didn’t particularly want Baby J having sugar at night, so she unfortunately missed out on this festivity. It was Oreo and chocolate flavored. Yum! After that, we concluded the evening by watching Doctor Strange, and we really enjoyed it.

In addition to all this, I did some shopping over the weekend. Last summer I did my best to avoid buying clothes in hope that I would somehow shrink down to my pre-baby size by now. Unfortunately, I’ve been stuck at the same weight for the past three months and I’m not sure when we’ll wean, so I’ve accepted that I need to buy some larger clothes. That’ll be for a different post though!

However, I suppose that Baby J gave us the greatest gift of all: SLEEP!!! (Of course, I’m sure she’ll start waking up again at night now that I’ve written this in my blog.)

4 thoughts on “A Late Happy Birthday to Me!

Leave a Reply

