New Glasses

There isn’t anything more that Baby J loves than to steal our glasses and play with them. I wasn’t expecting her to break them though! I’ve been overdue for a new pair (I think I had that pair for like five years?), but the kind of vocabulary that would be related to glasses isn’t covered in Japanese class, so I’ve been a bit nervous about actually getting new ones. The whole process wasn’t too painful, thankfully.

I regretfully didn’t buy the Sailor Moon frames that a store called JINS released last year, so I decided to had to look around for another kind (though I’m waiting for them to announce this month or next month that they’re making new kinds of Sailor Moon frames…). A friend recommended Zoff, so I took a look at their website to get an idea of what kind of frames I may find. My attention was immediately grabbed by the advertisement for their Disney Collection Princess Line. Of course I checked out Ariel first and was immediately struck by how perfect they were!

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-12-03-34-pm

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-12-03-42-pm

Even the little details were perfect! I loved the pearls. They are a lot redder in person than they appear online though, which made me hesitate when I was in the store, since I thought they would be a bit pinker. There’s also a gray version (“basic color”), but I wasn’t a fan of that. I almost bought the Jasmine glasses instead. In the end, I decided on going with the Princess color ones, as seen above.

I had gone on the weekend, so they were pretty busy. The sign by the entrance said it would take an hour for glasses to be ready. I was expecting it to be at least a half hour, so I made sure to bring something to read while I waited. I brought the frames I picked out to the front and they had me sign in using their iPad. I was surprised that the form was available in multiple languages, which leads me to think that maybe their stores in places like Tokyo have bilingual people working at them? The staff member who assisted me did not, however.

I wasn’t sure what to expect for the eye exam. I had heard from hubby that the eye exam might be the letter C going in different directions and I might have to say which direction it’s going in, but it was different from that. First they had me look into one machine that automatically adjusted itself, then I was seated at another machine where I was first shown something on the screen, and was asked which side was easy to read or if they were about the same. Next I was asked to read hiragana. They weren’t strings of multiple letters like I remember doing for eye exams in the States, but just a single hiragana character per line.

After the eye exam was done, I was shown a sheet and asked which options I’d like for the glasses. They had things such as making the lenses be thinner and therefore weigh less on the sheet. Hubby has glasses with transition lenses and I always thought those were pretty neat since you didn’t need a second pair of glasses. I saw online that the price for them was only 3,000 yen, so I jumped at the opportunity since it was so cheap. I think it’s not a very popular option though since the staff member seemed a bit surprised. I guess it might not be popular since you can’t leave the same day with the glasses. He told me it would take three days for them to be ready. That was fine with me! I had already been dealing with using my broken glasses for a few weeks at that point, and I decided that I could go a couple of extra days without new glasses.

Version 2

Coming home from shopping on a windy, snowy day.

It was well worth the wait! I felt like I had never seen so clearly in my life when I put them on. They had to adjust the way they fit a couple of times though, and I’m afraid I might have to go back for them to adjust them again. But the discomfort I still feel might be because these glasses are much heavier than my old ones. I think they’re very cute though!

As a bonus, it looks like the glasses are anti-glare too! In the end, my new glasses cost about 12,000 yen (about $105). Not bad!

3 thoughts on “New Glasses

  1. I had noticed you had different glasses, but thought they were just your sun glasses. How nice that they are actually transition glasses! Disney all the way! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

