Time Flies When You’re Having Fun

img_6871

I can’t believe how quickly January flew by. Time is just going so fast, and Baby J keeps getting bigger and bigger. It’s so hard to believe that she’s 10 months and we’re already thinking about what to get her for her first birthday. It feels like any day now she’ll start walking too. She practices taking steps multiple times a day now. Also, she’s remembered how to say “mama” again. She seems to go through cycles of what words she likes to frequently say. Sleep is still all over the place, but it’s gotten worse thanks to teething. Maybe one day we’ll be able to experience this magical “sleeping through the night” that everyone talks about, but maybe we have a better chance at meeting a kappa.

Her favorite games are peek-a-boo and she likes it when we play with an elephant O-ball that we have, and when I make vroom and beep beep noises with it. She still enjoys playing in the Jumperoo on occasion, but I think she likes using it to cruise and play with its toys while standing more. She’s gotten very good at pulling things like her bunny lovey from between the slats of her crib.

I got tired of making her completely separate meals, and she’s gotten into feeding herself, so now she eats what we eat 90% of the time. Her favorites are mikan (mandarin oranges), bananas, pasta, and fish. She’s started having a snack before dinner now too, and luckily they have a lot of options for snack foods for babies. She especially likes the kabocha (Japanese pumpkin) cookies. I feel like most of our days revolve around her eating now.

I really wish spring would come. I’ve started a personal quest to make sure Baby J and I get out and take a walk at least a couple times a week now, whether it be just a leisurely walk or a trip to the store, but the weather makes it so hard. Despite the weather though, so far I haven’t had a week where I haven’t met my goal! I need to get a new battery for my Fitbit to help encourage me some more.

As much as I want spring to come for health reasons though, I’m afraid of its coming for different reasons. I’m ready to go back working, and yet at the same time I’m a bit anxious about it all. I mean, I could always try to build up my freelance business again instead of going back. But I miss working in an office and speaking with other adults. I have options, but it’s hard to choose. I’m hoping to get the daycare application process started this week, so we’ll see what happens. I guess it’ll depend on how much of a chance I have to get her into daycare as someone who’s self-employed. The daycare process here is such a long and confusing one, I’m not looking forward to trying to figure out this mess!

Leave a Reply

