A Late Thanksgiving

I know it’s December now, but I’ve been busy so I haven’t had a chance to write about Thanksgiving yet!

img_6511

Last year we tried cooking a whole baby turkey in our microwave oven. Despite hours of cooking, we unfortunately ended up with a lot of uncooked meat. It was good but when I saw turkey legs on Amazon I decided to give those a try instead this year since they looked like they would be easier to cook.

Thanksgiving dinner this year came out great! We celebrated on Saturday since hubby had to work on Thursday. I used a recipe I found on Cookpad for the mashed potatoes, and then I used this recipe I found on allrecipes to marinate the legs in mandarin oranges, although the legs already had a pretty smokey flavor to them. I got stuffing and cranberry sauce from Kaldi. With all of the foreigners who live around where we live, I was surprised they still had stuffing.

img_6514

Originally for dessert I wanted to make a cheesecake and blueberry pie tart, but I accidentally dropped the tart crust I had bought and Kaldi didn’t have any others. Thankfully, my husband bought a couple of premade cheesecake tarts from a store, and I made the sauce to put on top. It was delicious!

This year I’m grateful for how healthy and beautiful our little girl is, and I’m also grateful for how hard my husband works so that I’ve been able to stay at home with her.

Leave a Reply

