Treat Yo Self

This has been a busy week! Lately my back has been killing me, so I took the plunge and went for a massage. It was 2,700 yen for 45 minutes, and boy did my poor back need it. A friend told me about a cheaper way to get my back pain treated though (which includes massages), so I think I’ll be looking into that more next week or the week after.

We’re planning to get pictures taken on Sunday, so on Wednesday I finally took my neighbor up on her offer to watch Baby J for a bit and I went and got my hair done. Unfortunately it took a lot longer than I expected and I didn’t have enough time to get the color that I want. I’m not sure if I want to go back and get that fixed yet, or if I just want to stick with this color. They did a very good job with my haircut though. This guy felt a lot more professional than the other place hubby and I used to go to, and I even got a massage that I’ve heard so much about Japanese hair salons doing but never experienced myself.

The hair salon that we used to go to has English signs and such everywhere, and the area we live in has become a popular place for tourists and other non-Japanese people because there’s a sharehouse there. However, I think the English signs and their location brought a lot of unexpected non-Japanese customers to them, and it just felt like they never liked dealing with us very much. Maybe it’s just the people I got, but I also felt like the guy at this salon I just went to also knew hair better. The people at the other salon never mentioned how things might affect my hair differently than it would typical Japanese hair, but he seemed to know.

I mentioned it took a lot longer than I expected, but I was kind of shocked just how much longer. When I made the reservation on a website called Hot Pepper Beauty, it said that it would take about two hours for a cut and dye. It wound up taking closer to three though! My appointment was at 2 pm, and Baby J usually takes her second nap around 4:30 pm, so I started getting really worried about her around 4 pm. Sure enough, when 4:30 pm hit she became a crying sleepy mess for my neighbor even though (according to my neighbor) she did great up until then. Poor baby! I had to rush home from the salon and managed to get her napping pretty quick.

It was nice to be able to go out and do something, even if I did worry about her the whole time! I’m glad to hear that she had a good time exploring someone else’s apartment though, and I bet my neighbor has a lot cooler toys than we have since she has two older boys.

One thought on “Treat Yo Self

Leave a Reply

