Tonight’s Dinner: Japanese Flavored Wings

Since I started on my cooking journey I’ve created a little collection of recipes I’ve already tried, but I’m still trying to do one new one a week. Wings were on sale this week, so I decided to finally use my premium subscription and try out one of the top rated recipes for wings from Cookpad.

I made us 8 wings each but I’m not sure that was enough. This recipe left us both wanting more!

img_6154

Original recipe on Cookpad

Ingredients: (Makes about 8 wings)
Wings: 500 g
★Soy sauce: 1/4 cup
★Cooking sake: 1/4 cup
★Vinegar: 1/4 cup
★Sugar: A bit more than 1/4 cup
☆Mirin (sweet cooking sake): 1/4 cup (For adding at the end)
Sesame seeds

Directions:
1. Add a little cooking oil to a frying pan and lightly cook both sides of the wings. They don’t have to be thoroughly cooked, so it doesn’t have to be long.
2. Add of the ingredients labeled with ★ to the frying pan.
3. Put tinfoil on with a hole in the middle, put a lid on the frying pan, set it to simmer on low heat, and set a timer for 30 minutes. (If it seems like it’s running out of moisture and might burn, add some water.)
4. Halfway through, flip the wings over. Then, when there’s 5 minutes remaining, add the ☆mirin and have it simmer on high heat.
5. Put them on a plate and add as much sesame seeds as you would like.

My notes: The directions for this one kind of confused me because I wasn’t sure when to put the tin foil on, so I just let it simmer the whole time with the tinfoil on, which I think was right. Since I made 16 wings I doubled the recipe, but I don’t think that was necessary. Next time I’ll try adding half the amount instead of double.

One thought on “Tonight’s Dinner: Japanese Flavored Wings

  1. Pingback: BBQ Wings Recipe | Cooking and Life With Baby

Leave a Reply

